All Right, Already

After five emails asking why I wasn’t all in a tizz over the RWA happenings, here’s my official statement. My opinion might be unpopular, but it is what it is, so…

First, I personally don’t believe the value of RWA truly lies in what RWA can do for you, rather its membership. For a majority of its members, it’s the camaradarie that counts: the inclusion, the friendships, the support, industry news (and gossip) shared between writers with similar goals.

The fact RWA now gates exposure between members, editors and publishers pretty well negates the organization as a worthwhile financial investment when the same camaraderie, inclusion, friendships, support, news (and gossip) can be had for free online.

Every publisher has a website. Nearly every editor’s email is widely available. Few publishers would shoo or ignore an author writing in with questions.

Furthermore, we have blogs, Twitter, Cover-It-Live, and .pdf that can deliver all workshop information in a permanent medium. Those tools can also be used to conduct editor appointments and any number of other things.

What I’m getting at is, if the members are ticked off because RWA can’t get with the times, the members and publishers are equally at fault for not embracing the digital tools at their disposal. Of course, the toys are not the same as getting together with 3 or so thousand of our closest friends, but that too could be arranged without the RWA stamp of approval.

Bottom line, if RWA members are serious about providing specialized support to digitally published authors, then stop seeking approval or permission from RWA for every little achievement, step up to the plate, and start a new organization for eRomance.

(Don’t look at me — I’m too busy actually working in publishing to do any such thing)

2 Responses

  1. Heh.
    Well said. Personally, I let my RWA membership go last fall when it became apparent that I’m able to get pubbed without access to RWA’s very extensive list of publishers who didn’t bother to look twice at me or my work because I was not, in fact, previously published. The RWR really seemed repetitive to me – always the same old articles – except the First Sales section, which is totally lame now. And it wasn’t as if I could really post my first sales in it, because neither of my pubs were RWA approved.
    A special group for epubbed romancers would be great, but really, most of us are just too darn busy writing and promoting, editing… Such a shame none of what we’re doing “counts”, eh?

  2. Well, when you think about it, RWA represents/supports two groups. Those trying to get in, and those trying to survive the “in” part.

Leave a Reply

