Wish List

First, it’s my day over at the Romantic Suspense Blog. Oddly enough, I did a quiz. :eyeroll: Yeah. Who knew?

On to the next thing: :hemi:

The questions are already hitting my inbox. You know the ones. “What kind of stories are you looking for?” Or, to paraphrase (a lot), “What sort of author would you selfishly hog for yourself instead of assigning them a different editor?” And, “How should I format my story and synopsis?”

Here’s my wish list(s) for the time being.

Stories:

  1. A romantic suspense with a hero who fits this song.
  2. A cleverly updated version of Jane Austen’s Mansfield Park.
  3. An action-adventure romance with the hero and heroine in pursuit of shiny things. (Yes, you’ve seen the movie. I’m not entirely serious about this one, but I love mythical structure and shiny things. You’re invited to play with theme and premise at will. The more timely and off-beat the better.)
  4. Many, many witty, steamy, atmospheric paranormals. (Atmospheric means rich lore, settings, and fathoms-deep characterization)

Authors:

  1. I want an author who can make me laugh and cry. Preferrably at the same time. And be warned: I cry at the drop of a hat, but it’s damned near impossible to make me laugh. Make me do both and I’ll be your devoted minion for life.
  2. I want an author who can choose the reader’s enjoyment over their own ego every day and twice on Sunday.
  3. I want an author who can sneak characterization into their grocery list.

Format:
Note: These are my own personal likes. They may not hold true for others, but as I’ll usually be the first to really dig into a submission for the time being, here are some tips to make me think happy thoughts about you.

Regarding the story/novel/book itself:

  1. All I care about is the words, so there’s no need to bother with title pages, fancy headers, or any other frills. Page numbers and non-eye-melting chapter headers will suffice.
  2. Include the book title and your name (last, first initial) in the file name, like this: MYBOOKTITLE_DoeJ
  3. Insert hard page-breaks between chapters. (ctrl + enter in Word)
  4. 1.5″ margins left and right, left justified text, .3 first line indents, multiple 1.5 linespacing, and 12pt Bookman Old Style font. Why? Because that’s what I’m used to working in, so I’ll feel “at home”, if you know what I mean.

Regarding query and synopsis:

  1. Please do NOT include your synopsis in the body of your query. Attach it as a separate document, named as above with “syn_” in front, like this: syn_MYBOOKTITLE_DoeJ
  2. Please keep your synopsis down to three pages or less. (formatted as above) Give us bare-bones story points with nothing held back, because synopses are used for much more than a hook.
  3. Keep the query just as succinct. Believe me, I won’t think you’re a jerk if it’s just “Hey, here’s my book. It’s this long, this genre. Here’s the hook, my street creds, and all the other information requested on Lyrical Press’s submission guidelines page.” In fact, I’ll think you kind, professional, and concerned for the state of my poor eyes.

I hope that helps a bit. Any other questions, go ahead and post them in comments.

2 Responses

  1. Ooh! Ooh!

    But how do you calculate word count?

    :ptalol:

    :tease:

  2. count them, one by one. :batlash:

Leave a Reply

