Enchanted

I was a horrible parent last night. My kids (who are 12, 9, and 8) have fallen in love with Primus, so I let them stay up a little later than usual to watch a couple videos on YouTube.

Understand when I say “let”, I mean “not even bribery was working at that point”. Also note: both videos I’m about to link can’t be embedded, courtesy of Universal Music Group. Otherwise I’d’ve saved you the step.

Thanks to DH, I tripped across the first one earlier this week, and was instantly enraptured. It’s a funkabilly remake of a classic — not entirely kid friendly, and just plain funny in places. The chickens kill me at the end. I’m very fond of absurdity. Click here to watch.

As for the second video I’m about to link, I hunted it down for a number of reasons:

  1. I needed to prove to the wee know-it-alls that there really is only one bass player in this band.
  2. They needed to learn the meaning of “six-string fretless” and “popping”.
  3. Way too much time had passed since I’d last worshipped at the Altar of Claypool.
  4. It takes the average person at least five months to get the latter half of this song out of their head, and I seek to spread the infection far and wide.

Some say they’re an acquired taste, but if you want to hear some of the tightest virtuosos in the world (and be infected with “say baby…” for all eternity) watch the really, really NOT kid friendly Tommy The Cat.

:feint: Picture me minimizing that one after I’d proved Les Claypool had only two hands.

Enjoy over the weekend. See you Monday.

Say baby.

3 Responses

  1. OMG,, that was so many levels of hilarious, not to mention wrong. And for God’s sake, don’t show that one to winger, he’ll freak at the devil riding his 50 year old Schwinn. Yes, the man has nothing better to do than get 50 year old bikes. Could that be considered a new version of the Chicken Dance?
    E

  2. I don’t know what that is at the end — cracks me up, though.

  3. We are so easily amused. Scary

Leave a Reply

