Knickers Saved The Day

I knew the moment I mentioned the word “vacation”, even cleverly disguised by the pseudo antecedent, would bring work. Sure enough, TLL’s galleys landed in das inbox this morning.

So naturally, I had to be distracted by something, and here it is, snatched from Yahoo’s “most e-mailed” list:

LONDON – From baggy briefs to the ultimate hotpants: A British woman’s underwear saved the day by doubling as an emergency fire blanket when her kitchen caught fire.

John Marsey and his cousin Darren Lines were frying bread in Jenny Marsey’s kitchen in Hartlepool, northeast England, on Sunday when their meal caught fire.

Lines grabbed the nearest thing from a pile of laundry to put it out: his aunt’s billowing, powder blue, size XL underpants.

He ran them under the faucet and tossed them onto the flames, successfully smothering the fire, a spokesman for the Cleveland Fire Brigade said, speaking on condition of anonymity in line with department policy.

Lines’ swift thinking saved the kitchen — but left his aunt’s underwear slightly scorched.

“It could have been a lot worse,” she said. “My family could have been in hospital but the knickers saved the day. I’m just grateful to the boys.”

The fire official said the general principle of using a large, wet cloth to cover a grease fire was a sound one.

As for using underwear: “Clearly it depends on what size you are — but I don’t want to go there.”

Classic. I’m still laughing. And “Knickers Saved The Day” has become my motto for everything now.

3 Responses

  1. ROFL!! That’s meant to go in a book, I swear. :teef:

    Happy New Year hon.

  2. Nice one. Good thing auntie didn’t wear thongs!

  3. omg I just choked on green tea, and now my daughter’s laughing at me.

    /scold Mel

Leave a Reply

