The Joys of Bulimic Writing

Have you ever wondered what it’s like to be a “pantser”? You know, where you can’t plan more than a couple scenes ahead or your muse will become more petulant than a two-year-old who’s just had their fist full of chocolate taken away?

Right now, I’m deep in the depths of the binge-purge cycle. I’ll write a ton, yet even while I’m doing it I know something’s not quite right. But I write it anyway, usually because something’s developing on the page that fixes a different problem or adds a new layer.

So pantsers just write (binge), then get to go back and delete the parts that sucked. (purge)

Here’s an example of how bad it can get. :teehee:

Book 2:

The working file (actual story): 82,446 words.
The purged file (deleted parts): 131,792 words (which doesn’t include the 6 first acts I rejected).

Book 3:

The working file: 26,299 words.
The purged file: 19,008 words.

For Christmas this year, please send me any and all spare “planner” brain cells.

4 Responses

  1. LOL This is the perfect way to describe how I write! I wish I could plan things out better, but my brain just isn’t wired that way. I hope Santa brings you what you want. :tease:

  2. OMG!!!!!!! You delete a lot more than me! If I did that….well….. :freak:
    Right, but then the idea of having something at 80K seems a long way off too. :notwrthy:

  3. Turns out I need a bunch of words and would be most, ummm, what’s the word for it, oh I don’t know, let’s just say I would like it a ummmmm,
    I just can’t think of the right words so send me all the words you have been discarding. I will put them to good use.

    Merry Christmas Emma

  4. What? /feels Winger’s forehead

    All that, and not a single typo?

    Who are you, and what have you done with him? I demand he’s returned to me AT ONCE.

Leave a Reply

