The Casting…Armchair

Ever watched a movie and imagined another actor in a certain role? Or watched an older film and wondered who’d be cast if they had to make it today?

Well, I have. A lot. When you think about it, there’s so much more to the marriage of actor to role than physical appearance. I mean, do you honestly think anyone would have sat through Cast Away if Chuck Noland had been played by, say, Sylvester Stallone instead of Tom Hanks? Or how about Braveheart with Mike Myers rather than Mel Gibson? Goldie Hawn instead of Glenn Close in Fatal Attraction?

So after reading this post of Karen’s (which in turn was inspired by The Goddess Blogs) and watching Hitchcock’s Rear Window, somehow I ended up wondering if it wouldn’t be an interesting study in characterization to do some “armchair re-casting”.

Naturally, I want to start with Rear Window. I’m not talking about a modernization of the script or anything like that. Just a re-cast of an exact reproduction if they were making it today.

In its day, Rear Window was crammed with A-list actors (and hey, we all know about Hitchcock’s um…fascination with certain ones), but we don’t necessarily have to stick to that.

So here are the roles I suggest we re-cast:

  1. LB Jefferies (Jimmy Stewart)
  2. Lisa Carol Fremont (Grace Kelly)
  3. Detective Doyle (Wendell Corey)
  4. Lars Thorwald (Raymond Burr)
  5. Stella (Thelma Ritter)
  6. Miss Lonelyheart (Judith Evelyn)
  7. Miss Torso (Georgine Darcy)

You can stick absolutely true-to-form, parodize, take risks, re-cast them all or just a few. Put a lot of thought into it or shoot names off the cuff. Your choice. The point is to have some fun with this thing, so don’t be shy.

I’m still working on my list. I’ll post it in comments when it’s more fleshed out.

5 Responses

  1. Ooh that’s a god one. I’m leaning toward Ed Norton as Jefferies. I think he has the sweetness and the edge that the role needs. Not sure for Lisa…will have to think on that one.

  2. I agree with Christine on her choice. I’ll add Clive Owen for Detective What is his name.Clive can do his scary face that he does so well.
    Okay, the real challenge is the Thelma Ritter role. Ohhhwheeee.

  3. Lisa’s the one I’m having the most trouble with. Stupefyingly beautiful, icy blondes are a bit thin on the ground these days.

    For Stella I was thinking Judy Davis. But I change my mind every hour or so.

  4. Sadly, I’ve never been a fan of Hitchcock, so I don’t think I’ve ever seen this movie or I’d play. I know, you can throw tomatoes at me later.

  5. Oy — just remembered I never posted my list.

    1) LB Jefferies (was Jimmy Stewart)

    2) Lisa Carol Fremont (was Grace Kelly) Ali Larter

    3) Detective Doyle (Wendell Corey) Vince Vaughn

    4) Lars Thorwald (Raymond Burr) Sean Bean

    5) Stella (Thelma Ritter) Judy Davis

    6) Miss Lonelyheart (Judith Evelyn) Kim Cattrall

    7) Miss Torso (Georgina Darcy)

    That’s all I can decide on for now. Casting is hard! I had a ton of choices for both LB and Doyle, but somehow, no one feels right.

Leave a Reply

