Thursday Thirteen #17


Thirteen Movies I’ve Been Watching Lately

I’m horrible for watching the same movies over and over again. I’m not sure why. But here’s a list of 13 current repeats.

  1. Sense and Sensibility What’s not to love about this one?
  2. Dead Again I’m watching this right now, a second Emma Thompson film. I had an honest-to-God squeally fit in the store when I found it in a bargain rack. Totally over the top and still love this film about a million years after the fact.
  3. Spiderman Just… can’t… stop… watching.
  4. Spiderman II They’ll have to pry this disc outta’ my cold, dead hands, I swear. And to date, I believe I’m still the only living person who “got” every second of Spidey III. Well, except for the dance number. Why the he…ck is Hollywood so in love with those?
  5. Holes I bought it for my kids. Really, I did.:angel:
  6. Music and Lyrics While I can’t say this is a particular favorite, I have hysterics over several parts of this film. “There’ll be no more rhymes until I’m fed.” is one of them.
  7. America’s Sweethearts This is my go-to movie whenever I can’t decide what to watch. Hank Azaria and Christopher Walken make me howl.
  8. Pride and Prejudice The all-time best for those times when I know I’m gonna be writing a while. I don’t even pay attention to it. It’s just on to keep me company.
  9. Miracle I’ve seen this a billion times. And yet… I still bawl every time.
  10. American Dreamer I think they take your romance writing privileges away if you haven’t seen this one.
  11. Clueless Amy Heckerling. Enough said.
  12. Mean Girls Tina Fey, in case no one’s ever said it, you’re brilliant.
  13. Elizabethtown God love ya’, Cameron.

So there’s my list. What are you watching?

[blenza_autolink tt]

8 Responses

  1. Great list of movies! Right now, we’re watching The Patriot. And we’ve been watching Blood Diamond and The Good Shepherd.

    Happy TT, and thanks for visiting mine! πŸ™‚

  2. Which P&P do you prefer? I like both but my favorite is with Colin Firth. Happy TT!

  3. I love Sense and Sensability – that scene at the end when Emma realises that Hugh isn’t married and she blubbers – I howl everytime. And I LOVE Dead Again – great creepy movie.

  4. Hey, Emma! I’ve added some of these to my Netflix queue. Just what I need; it’s already got 250+ movies on it! (Okay, a lot of those ARE for the kids. Probably more than half.)

    But Holes? Really?

    Happy TT, babe!

  5. I love Sense and Sensibility! I just rebought it on DVD because my VCR won’t play anymore. And seeing Hugh Laurie in this after just watching season one and two of House is hilarious!

  6. Yup, yup, nodding. And I buy my movies for the kids, too. And toys. Sometimes I even let them watch/play with them. πŸ™‚

  7. *races in, panting* Loooooong day, sorry.

    Thomma — Is The Good Shepherd… good? I still haven’t seen that one.

    Joely, I’ve got the Colin version. One of my greatest disappointments is that I never got to see Pierce B as Darcy. /grumble

    Miss FF — lol. I’m always laughing and crying at the same time for that one. Picture el esposo rolling his eyes. Men just don’t get it.

    SHG, re. Holes: I loved the book more, the way everything is connected and all comes together. But the movie is a pretty faithful represenation… if you’ve read the book. I think a lot of nuance is lost if you haven’t.

    Christine! /snickering. Ah man Hugh was soooo good. “If only you would stop.” I was so in love with him when Marianne gets sick. *sigh*

    Babe — You should have seen me when we first got Cars (pixar). I still have that “real gone” song permanently imbedded in my poor braincell.

  8. Joely, your wordpress still thinks I’m spam *snivelling*

Leave a Reply

