Thursday Thirteen #15


Thirteen Potential Plots for my site’s future “Free Read”

I have severe brainfry. The braincell needs a fresh workout in the very worst sort of way. So you — with a little help from the boys over at Seventh Sanctum — are hereby called to a vote.

Choose one of the thirteen pre-generated plots listed below. I will then have to develop and produce the story for eventual publication on my site.

[Disclaimer: Potential plots have been pre-screened to deliberately fall far outside my writing-comfort zone. While I will stick to my end of the bargain, I wouldn’t count on the product being the most serious piece of work you ever read. I’m doing this for fun, “exercise” and stress relief, not to further damage what’s left of my braincell. I’ll save the strenuous stuff for the WIP. :madcow: And if I have enough fun with this, it may become a regular site feature.]

EDIT TO ADD: :whine: Vista updated again yesterday and gee, guess what? Some wordpress and blogger sites are :ptalol: at me again. I can’t even get Mark’s page to load without errors that actually shut down both IE and FF. So, I’m tryana get to ppl. Just having some technical chicanery again. Sorry.

SECOND EDIT TO ADD: After voting, get thee to Rhonda’s TT. I still can’t breathe from laughing.

Without further ado, vote for the plot you most want to read (or inflict upon me, as the case may be):

  1. This story starts in Toronto. In it, a secretive gas station attendant attends a social event and meets a stellar cartographer who is cursed with bad luck. What starts as indifference soon turns into true love – all thanks to spying. Yet, how can hunting tear them apart?
  2. This story starts in a hideout. In it, a tireless surgeon falls passionately in love with a wanderer with a strange rapport with supernatural beings – all thanks to someone reading a diary.
  3. This story starts in a magical part of our universe. In it, a neurotic football player becomes infatuated with a circuit priestess who fears people think he/she is a fraud – all thanks to someone buying a dwelling. Yet, how can someone taking a bath tear them apart?
  4. This story starts in a village. In it, an opinionated teacher is introduced to a gigolo who belongs to a secret organization. What starts as contempt quickly becomes true love – all thanks to a birthday celebration.
  5. In this story, an infamous stockbroker attends a religious event and meets a video game programmer who inherited a family curse. What starts as dislike becomes infatuation – all thanks to a murder.
  6. This story starts in a nature preserve. In it, a nice shaman goes on a blind date with an unfriendly police chief. What starts as detachment soon turns into infatuation – all thanks to someone wakes up. Yet, how can someone giving a test tear them apart?
  7. In this story, an introverted stockbroker hires a hermit who is part of a secret society. What starts as confusion becomes true love – all thanks to the revelation of a dark secret.
  8. This story starts in a small city in South America. In it, a ranger who belongs to a mysterious cult moves in with an artistic airline pilot. What starts as obligation quickly becomes a passionate affair – all thanks to research being done.
  9. This story takes place in an outpost in a shadowy domain. In it, an architect who has annoyed the gods falls passionately in love with an unheroic pedlar – all thanks to a surrender.
  10. This story starts on a prairie planet. In it, a hero who is prone to odd statements gets a job with an awkward police chief. What starts as friendship unexpectedly turns into true love. What role will a rabble-rouser play in their relationship?
  11. In this story, an odd clerk ends up on the run with a magician haunted by dark memories. What starts as obligation quickly becomes a passionate affair – all thanks to a religious ceremony. What role will someone getting a new job play in their relationship?
  12. This story takes place in a port in a law-abiding dukedom. In it, a selfish mobster becomes infatuated with a healthy baseball player. It seems an official just awoke from suspended animation will bring them even closer together.
  13. In this story, a sailor who is part of a secret society accidentally runs into a serene adventurer. What starts as a one-night stand soon turns into love – all thanks to a slip of the tongue.
  14. [blenza_autolink tt]

32 Responses

  1. My vote is for #6. :freak:

  2. I don’t suppose I can vote YES and just wait (even if it takes a few years) for you to rip through the list?

    Well, then, do the nature preserve/shaman/cop one. Intriguing.

  3. I like number 7 and number 13. So many fun giggles there. 🙂

  4. This story starts in a hideout. In it, a tireless surgeon falls passionately in love with a wanderer with a strange rapport with supernatural beings – all thanks to someone reading a diary.

    This one jumped out at me – number 2!

    I’m all about 13 cool writing tips this time round on my TT – do stop by!

  5. I vote for #2, too! Sounds like a fun, intriguing premise. And a great creative exercise, too! It’ll be intriguing to see what you do with it. 🙂

    Happy TT, and thanks for visiting my blog!

  6. bwhahahaha. I think with these you have finally crossed the line. You know, the one between genius and insanity. Not saying which side I think you fell into. Can’t wait to see the result. 🙂 Take care of that poor little braincell.

  7. I like the murder plot, #5

  8. I say 6. Can David make a guest appearance? :hug: :gowrite:

  9. I’m with Christine d’Abo: #7 & #13–I’m a sucker for secret societies.

    I can’t wait to see what you do with whichever one you choose.

  10. I love the Seventh Sanctum generators.

  11. Please do # 2; it sounds so intriguing! :gowrite:

  12. #2 looks awesome!!

  13. Uh oh. Das editor has weighed in. Should Immi’s vote count as more than one?

    And Babe, Mel already decided I was nuts. I’m gonna name the villain after her. :freak:

    Hmm… naming characters after blogging buddies. I like that in sort of a maniacally lazy kind of way.

  14. Bwahahahahahahahaha
    I wanna be Darth Mel

    :supah:

  15. Heh :supah: :supah: :supah:

  16. #4! Come on…a gigolo! YOU HAVE TO!!!

    PS – LOLOLOL thanks for adding the link to my blog on yours!! I had SO much fun writing those.

  17. Number five sounds absolutely awesome! 😀

  18. Oh man, Rhonda. The shot-off toe. And the nursing home. And the farmer’s tan.

    The shot-off toe is my favorite.

    Someone’s gonna have to have their toe shot off in this story now. Or grow one back. I can’t even think about it without laughing, still.

  19. Rhonda and Emma-LOL
    I dont know-I think all these stories should be told! 🙂

  20. I liked #13 :notwrthy:
    Great list!

  21. Hum, I agree with the ALL 😀

  22. Should Immi’s vote count as more than one?

    Yes.

  23. I think either #2 or #5 – of course, they all sound quite good — maybe you want to work your way through the list???

  24. Oh, gotta go with #13…a sailor and a slip of the tongue…GO NAVY! (See, I automatically think military sailor!) :yeyas:

  25. #2

  26. #7! Hermit and introverted stock broker!

  27. Oooo, fun! [rubbing hands together in glee]

    Let’s see…

    No. 11!!

  28. You know, I forgot what your TT was about because I followed your ad to your book! That is high concept! And a great ad … wow! I’ve added it to my TBR pile!

    Happy TT!

  29. Just so you know, I’m naming the protags’ firstborn “spyscribbler”.

Leave a Reply

