Tellin It Like It Is

A couple interesting things today.

First of all, I’ve never seen Firefly, but will soon. And guess what? They’re developing it into an MMORPG.

Second, I got the contents of this link in my inbox this morning.

I think this list of 200 Sleepers and Keepers is something everyone should pay attention to for more reasons than I can even say. I immediately wanted to know the criteria for making this list, and here it is:

* These DVDs are our perennial top-sellers, consistently selling the most, month after month, over the last several years. They’re all keepers, of course–but some, like Firefly: The Complete Series and Love Actually, have been quiet hits, selling copy after copy since the day they were released without ever having made industry headlines–those are our “sleepers.”

So these are the stories that sell. Not the ones that advertise the most.
And these are the stories people love. Not necessarily the ones critics loved.

Here’s the Top 10 (of 200) since no one ever really clicks links:

  1. StarWars Trilogy: Episodes IV-VI
  2. Firefly – The complete season
  3. Pride and Prejudice – The Special Edition (A&E, 1996)
  4. Band of Brothers
  5. Schoolhouse Rock! (Special 30th Anniversary Edition)
  6. Pirates of the Caribbean – The Curse of the Black Pearl (Two-Disc Collector’s Edition)
  7. 24 – Season One
  8. Sex and the City – Season Six, Part 1
  9. Love Actually (Widescreen Edition)
  10. Monty Python and the Holy Grail (Special Edition)

The important thing to note, I believe, is that… Well, first, Joss Whedon’s Firefly is second only to my beloved StarWars. Also, Jane Austen, a ROMANCE NOVELIST is on this list FOUR TIMES with Pride and Prejudice, Sense and Sensibility, Emma, and Persuasion.

I’m viewing this as a big fat reality check for the Literarian Nation and Hollywood both. And I’m grinning my ass off in a singularly smug fashion, because obviously the Lit-Snots get as much of a reception from the buying public as romance novelists get from the Lit-Snots.

Nasty, funny triangle we’ve got going, here.

Yet ironically, as I’m writing this, I’m watching Holes. The Louis Sachar book it was based on won the John Newbery Medal from the American Library Association. And yes, I’ve read the book about 20 times.

I can’t decide if that’s treason or irony. But hey, a good story is a good story.

One Response

  1. Firefly is an awesome show. I still can’t believe Fox got rid of it. Once you see them all you need to watch the movie. Then come talk to me!

Leave a Reply

