The Thrill of Agony, and the Victory of Defeat

I hate being a pantser. I really, really do.

For pantsers, sometimes the only way to sort out story problems is to force a draft and let the plot holes show themselves in all their glory. I call this the Edison Method. When you’re done, you’ll know a thousand ways to make the plot not work, and hopefully one way that will.

I’m used the the Edison Method, so it doesn’t bother me as much as it once did. What still bothers me is just typing without caring what words go on the page.

It’s agony. Sheer torture. Passive verbs. Messy syntax. Object and tense disagreement. Disordered paragraphs. All manner of mechanical horrors. :pullhair:

But on the flip side, there’s also a perverse sort of joy involved in all this — I get to tell my internal editor to shut the :censor: up at will.

There. Now I’ve broken all my nails scraping the bottom of the barrel for possible silver linings. There has to be karmic value in that.

3 Responses

  1. I thougth it was just me who did that! I’m getting a little better by trying to do some basic plotting, but it’s hard. My last manuscript I had a major plot issue, but I just kept writing.

    I really need to get back to it and fix it up… :help:

  2. Ouch, scraping that barrel hurts! Being a pantser can be a real pain, as well… and I’ve learned I have to do some plotting or I wind up with a mess. I still manage to change things as I go along. Somehow I get to point C by going from A to D, back to B and … yeah, just give me a plot map, please! 😉

    Btw, you’ve been tagged! Go here for more info: http://megallisonromance.blogspot.com

  3. I’m a pantser, so I totally get this post.

Leave a Reply

