Thursday Thirteen 5


Thirteen Words I Never Want to See Again

I’m copyediting. I’ve deleted or written around the following so many times, I could cry

    1. That: It’s everywhere. It’s eve-ill.

    2. Really: Why oh why do I love this word so?

    3. Just: It was just about 10% of this manuscript.

    4. About: The remaining 90% of said manuscript.

    5. To: Infinite infinitives.

    6. Like: Like, gag me with a red pen.

    7. But: It breeds like :bunny:

    8. Now: Now, I don’t mean to get off on a rant here, but this word sucks backhair.

    9. Had: I had had enough of this word by the end of the first act.

    10. While: It will be a while before I like this word again.

    11. Lay/Lie: No matter what, I will always use the wrong one.

    12. All: I use this word all the time.

    13. So: So like, I won’t lay to you. I was just about done editing for a while but now I just had to blog about it, and that just really bites.

Get the Thursday Thirteen code here!
The purpose of the meme is to get to know everyone who participates a little bit better every Thursday. Visiting fellow Thirteeners is encouraged! It’s easy, and fun!

[blenza_autolink tt]

20 Responses

  1. Garbage words…gotta love them! That and just are my worst ones. I hate combing through a manuscript and getting rid of them.

  2. LOL. I don’t envy you!

  3. So like you must be just copyediting my book, because I just can’t seem to get enough of those words in my books too. I use them just about all the time, just can’t get enough of them, though I thought I had tried to eliminate them. Just seeing them here in your TT makes me want to just go lay/lie down for awhile/a while.

    :freak:

  4. I’m totally with Jaci. You must be like looking at my m/ss or something.

    Poor Angie and my “or something”.

    I even have a note somewhere with the garbage words I must like avoid, but I don’t know where it is. Maybe the kids took it or something.

    Just hang in there….or something. :tongue:

  5. :spin: But but but but Oh, I’m working so hard on that list, it’s JUST THAT…oh nevermind…

  6. LOL! Potty mouth! I’m doing my own massive delete of these words. I have a repeating word problem too πŸ™‚ In one paragraph, my editor highlighted 4 “He could’s” Aye aye aye.

  7. I use that and just all the time and I hate it! I wish I could burn those out of my vocabulary!!

  8. Amen, to all of these!! Happy TT.

  9. This is what I should be doing ==> :type: instead of doing this ==> :rofl: @ your list! Your ms sounds a lot like mine… but you forgot SAID!

  10. Great list. I’m guilty of half of those, plus the word almost. I have no idea why I think I need to use it on every page. πŸ™‚

  11. LOL! Oh, you’re not alone with the lay/lie thing. Just think chickens & eggs.

    My personal overkill word is “though” or “although”. I’ll use it every other sentence if I don’t watch it. Argh.

  12. Lol, I love that list! And I’m so guilty. πŸ™‚

  13. You’ve obviously been reading my manuscripts. My all time worst words, however, are “that” and “but”. But, you forgot “yet” – another of my favorites.

    My TT is on obsolete words today. Maybe we could substitute.

  14. Oh, I’m so guilty of most of those too. Especially like–but in speech, which is twice as bad because there’s no damn delete button!

  15. Ok for the life of me I’ll never get lay/lie right either. Drives me nuts! And I’m a big fan of the word that. That is everywhere. Sigh…

    Great list!

  16. I’ll never get lay/lie. I’ll also never remember if it’s grey/gray for the US. And I’ll always spell Marshall with 2 Ls.

    I’m doing better with THATs, though. I think.

  17. I get confuse with lay/lie too. If anything I have habit with bad grammars and miss-spelling too. Great list of words, some I use too many times to count in emails too *sigh*

    Happy T13 – have a good day!

  18. Adding to the list, since mine appears to be much longer πŸ™‚

    Oh
    Some
    Start to
    been
    look
    okay
    &
    eyes (rolling, shooting, flipping, amazing acrobatics in general)

  19. Poor baby. But just think, guys, if you didn’t use these garbage words what *would* your editors do all day?
    πŸ˜€

  20. I’ve got the ‘that’ affliction, too. This list is a good one to use for a “find” edit! Thanks!

    Happy TT!

Leave a Reply

